Sentencing and Punishment for a Felony DUI in Los Angeles County

If convicted of a DUI Felony in Los Angeles County and it was your 4th DUI within a 10-year period you would be facing

  • 16 months, or 2 yeas to 3 years in a California State Prison
  • Fines that would be approximately $1,800
  • A 4 year State of California driver’s license revocation/suspension
  • Designated as a ”habitual traffic offender” by the California DMV

In the even that you caused a death as a result of your DUI you would be sentenced differently. Potential sentences for these offenses could lead to a lifetime imprisonment and a “strike” on your criminal record pursuant to the State of California’s Three Strikes Law

Additional Conditions That Can Accompany DUI Probation in Los Angeles County

  • You will not be allowed to drive with any measurable amount of alcohol in your system at anytime
  • You cannot refuse to submit to any chemical test of your blood, breath or urine if arrested by a police officer for a DUI
  • You will not be allowed to commit any additional crimes of any kind, if you do commit any crimes of any kind your probation could be revoked by the state and you would face further punishment from a judge